Metal Storm logo
Aspiring Vocalist Seeks Advice

09.10.2008 - 08:01
Hrothdane
I am looking for advice on how to develop my singing ability/technique, computer programs and equipment I should look into, and any other pearls of wisdom you may have to offer.

I prefer to sing clean because I don't want to damage my vocal cords (I know you can sing harsh without damaging them, I just don't know how).

I have a clear, strong high-pitched scream that I can hold 10 seconds+ (Andi Deris from Helloween complimented me on it!).

My range is good, but I'm not quite sure how to classify it in musical terms (any tips on how to do that would be appreciated greatly).

I took 5 years of piano when I was much younger, so I know how to read music and have some basic knowledge of musical theory.
----
Despair is death, and I'm not interested in dying.

Member of the True Crusade against True Crusades
09.10.2008 - 15:59
Sunioj
Ok... I'm not that experienced in being a vocalist, but for technique to clean vocals, I could only recommend basic stuff to work on like posture, use of your abdomen, vibrato (if you want, it sounds cool with clean vocals imo). Stand up straight at all times, slouching will often make you sound flat.

Same thing with singing out of the abdomen, if you sing too much with your throat to relay the sound, it may sound incomplete or flat, and in response to your comment about screaming/growling, the voice can also be hurt if you sing clean from the throat too. Remember to breath, that is important to remember to do (believe it or not lol), because that is essential to singing from the abdomen (and that you don't loose breathe in the middle of singing).